About me

Hello, really not sure if this is the best place to dump my fractal thoughts but it seems to be an interesting site, I don't talk much or write regularly or engage in arguments or seek to persuade. I dump thoughts that clog up my brain so that i can move on to the live and vibrant thing that is now . I am open minded to a fault but do not agree with a lot of key cultural and foundational concepts, or rather do not accept them as foundational for my own thinking, but i am very happy to let others have their own opinions. All I ever put down is my opinion as it was at the time i write it, Therefore my opinion changes with the sequences that i engage in. I search hard not to justify my opinion but to explore it and to see where it leads. I live in this world by the grace of my wife and kids and friends and the nanozoe of which i am at one level composed. To these i express my constant gratitude. The time has come to shift paradigms once again, to explore my existential and experiential continuum from a new fundamental intuitive or nascent axiom or set of axioms, I am jewish and i once sought to find a referent for yh~hechad, Now I have left ancestor worship for others, i search for a mystery to underpin my culturaj forms so i may use the same words but refer to something completely other. I live a non revolutionary life by choice or as qholeth would say by wisdoms quiet murmurrings. O0

Delightfully yours sam

[/quote]

Originally posted by author:

Thank you and welcome to you. I will be concentrating at least initially in the fundamentals of mathematics and logic where happily as an undergraduate i found solace in an otherwise overwhelming world of university level maths. Hilbert and Goedel and Gauss were my heroes at that time because they nurtured a nagging suspicion about what i was being spoonfed or assuming about man mathematics and proof and rationality. I now realise that Russel had so straight jacketed the academic world of philosophy and mathematics that what we were taught as proof was no more than syllogistic presentation of a conclusion and formal symbolic manipulation. It has taken a while for experimental mathematics to take the rightful place of progenitor of mathematical theorems. Playing in the sandpit was one of those enjoyable youthful things that i did that seemed so irrelevant to formal mathematics at that time presented. Russel exhausted himself playing with the symbolic logic of his day and his paradox revealed a profound mis -application of it or rather an assumption which was culturally taken to seriously and resulted in all sorts of strictures being placed on mathematicians from that time on. We do not need to remove paradox we need to use it to explore the self referencing tendency we have in our own language and thought systems. Iteration recursive procedures were like mud before computers. Number theory was like an orphan branch of maths before computers, and those who used computers were some how less than those who proved things by mathematical deduction. It may still be the case in some quarters but it has always seemed strange to me that so called proof, much of it based on self consistency, should have such preeminence over discovery by trial and error. The beauty of an equation is in its economy and exactness of reference: It refers precisely to the matter in hand and it saves time counting and writing, thus enabling the complete procedure to be seen or explained more explicitly, but only to those who have been working in that field so to speak, who are familiar with the referents. To others it serves only to obscure and mystify. So it is that i prefer any exposition that gets its hands dirty in the details leaving the equations for a summary. Lancelot Hogben in his mathematics for the millions attempted to do this but he was soon overtaken by his growing erudition. In mathematics one can be seduced by the symbology and the economy of thought to the detriment of clear exposition. Paradox serves to humble us to return us to the sandpit in which we are playing and from which we can joyfully derive all our theorems. :-*   

Leave a Reply

